Sweet and Sour Pork Chops

If your looking for something delicious to make for dinner tonight, look no further than this post. These sweet and sour pork chops are so good, and it gave me a since of accomplishment, as it was the first time I have ever made pork chops that weren’t shake and bake (embarrassing confession, I know.) This is another delicious recipe brought on by my obsession with Pinterest! A few nights ago my mom came home from the grocery store informing me that she had purchased pork chops for us to eat for dinner but had made no plans to do anything with them. “Do you have a recipe for that?” ….. NO but I can find one quick fast and in a hurry, so I did. I will admit for some reason the bought of cooking bone in pork chops at home in the kitchen has always been a little terrifying and I always refused to make them for my boyfriend when he asked because I just knew I would screw it up, however, this was much easier than I thought and they were DELICIOUS! So, I couldn’t resist sharing them with you! Hopefully you will find it to be as easy and delicious as I did! This is a multi-part meal, but don’t be overwhelmed, it is, as I said before, much easier than it appears.

Ingredients:

1 can (8 ounces) unsweetened crushed pineapple, undrained 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon reduced-sodium soy sauce
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
2 bone-in pork loin chops (6 ounces each) 1 teaspoon canola oil
1 small green pepper, chopped, divided
1 small onion, cut into wedges, divided
1 small carrot, diced, divided Hot cooked rice, optional

 Instructions:
In a small sauce pan combine the first five ingredients to make the sauce. Bring the mixture to a boil and then reduce heat and let the mixture simmer for 10 minutes.

While the mixture simmers in a large skillet use canola oil to coat the pan and then brown the pork chops cooking for 7 or 8 minutes on each side, or until golden brown, then let them drain.

Next, line an 8-in. square baking dish with foil; coat the foil with cooking spray. Place pork chops in prepared pan; sprinkle with half of the green pepper, onion and carrot. Pour sauce over the entire pan.  Cover and bake at 350° for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes uncover; sprinkle with the remaining vegetables. Baste with sauce in pan. Bake 10-15 minutes longer or until meat and veggies are tender. Makes two servings. Serve over rice or with other veggies!

Awesome meal in about an hour, and we didn’t even plan ahead, snaps to us.I highly recommend this to increase your level of meal satisfaction and self-esteem in the kitchen! Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

