Banana Bread

So I found this recipe on another blog, it is definitely not my own. But I have been DYING to find a good Banana bread recipe, because it is one of my favorite treats. I haven’t eaten mine yet because I am taking it to the mountains this weekend, but it smells delicious in the oven I will have to try so hard not to devour the whole loaf on the 4 hour drive up there, because I am sure it will have my entire care smelling utterly delicious! This recipe is great because you sub applesauce and honey for the sugar and oil so it adds some more moisture to it, etc, sounds great, hope it tastes even better.

So, my first problem with making banana bread is that I can NEVER figure out how long I am suppose to let the bananas ripen, or I just don’t plan ahead enough to have fully ripened bananas on hand OR most likely, someone ate them, because we do not leave food lying around our house long enough to turn brown and rotten looking. So, in order to avoid all of these unfortunate events I found this great tip on a super quick ripening trick from AmandAkJones, another blog. She shared her findings from the America’s Test kitchen cookbook, and this is what they said:

BEFORE peeling the bananas stick them on a baking pan and pop them in a pre-heated oven (350 because that is what you will cook the bread on) and bake them, skin and all for about 15 minutes, I flipped mine about half way through so that they would brown evenly. This expedites the ripening process and brings all the sugars and deliciousness into the bananas, and over ripened  bananas are what will give the bread all the flavor and moisture, and make it perfectly delicious! I did this with my bananas and was so surprised how it turned out, see!

So after you have the bananas ripened, you are ready to make the bread. You will need the following ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar free applesauce
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 3 mashed overripe bananas
  • 1 small bag of chopped walnuts (if desired)

In order to mix the bread you will need two bowls, one for dry ingredients and one for wet. Follow these instructions carefully, as I have learned baking is a delicate art, not to be altered unless done so with exact measurements.

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
  • In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt.
  • In a separate bowl, mix together applesauce and honey. Stir in eggs and mashed bananas until well blended.
  • Stir banana/wet ingredients mixture into flour mixture; stir just to moisten.
  • Mix in walnuts if desired
  • Pour batter into prepared loaf pan, and sprinkle walnuts on top
  • Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean.
  • Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.
It looks great and I can’t WAIT to taste it, I will be sure to let you all know how it turned out, especially if it is a hit! Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

