Sensational Summer Sandals

It seems that all of my obsessions, apart from dance, revolve around accessories…I blame this partially on my desire to wear things that are super comfortable, and maybe not necessarily “fashion forward.” Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dress like a slob kabob, but I do love a flowy dress or skirt annnd if I am not doing anything productive with my life, you will probably find me in a pair of running shorts and a t-shirt. But, in the summer, no matter my outfit, I will always be sporting some sort of sandal. Honestly, I think if I walked into any store and found a pair that I loved, they would probably be in my closet in less than 2 weeks. Primarily because in the store while admiring them on my feet I have already developed an outfit around the sandals AND because I know that every cute sandal has a short shelf life in a store… if its there after two weeks that means other people think its ugly and it was probably best that I didn’t buy it to begin with. So, heres the rundown on my sandal selection from dressy to casual and my must haves to my wish list.

Summer Sandal Must-Haves

Jack Rodgers:

This is a must have in every Souther Girls closet. I wear these with LITERALLY everything.  Jeans, dresses, skirts, running shorts. You name it and my Jacks have probably been paired with it. If you don’t have a pair, shame on you. They seem expensive but I have had the same pair for almost 3 years and they are still going strong. If you don’t already have them, GET THESE SHOES IMMEDIATELY! 

Rainbows:
 

A little more casual…and by a little I mean a lot. But, these are perfect for the beach or the pool. Love these too, although I seem to have misplaced mine recently so a new pair is in order as soon as I make it to the store to get a pair. I don’t wear them as much as I use to so who knows how long they have been missing. Oops!

Target Flats:

I am not even going to pretend like I spend all my income on fancy expensive shoes. I get mine mostly from Target or other random chain shoe stores. They always have the style I want in a variety of colors…and Im not opposed to having the same shoe in 3 different colors. These are my favorite Target flats. I wear them anytime I am not wearing my Jacks. They were $15 and they go with almost everything in my closet. They are the perfect sandal.

  I would say that more important than anything is to have a metallic sandal in your wardrobe because it will go with anything and everything you could want to wear, black, brown, white, blue… whatever… unless you are wearing metallic, then its your struggle, not mine!

Dress it up! 

Steve Madden Wedge: 

Ok, I’m not even going to pretend that I don’t love a good wedge, and I have never met a Steve Madden wedge that I didn’t love. For some reason they always fit my feet just right and are SOOOO comfy. I can wear them for hours with no trouble, and I love a heel, but we tend to disagree on comfort level at times, so I was shocked at how much I love to wear these wedges!

Fun and Flirty:

Dress up an outfit with a pair of flats that have a little flair of flirt, with ruffles, rhinestones, or a bow… all things I love and adore, and these shoes are for real on my wish list because I love a good bow just as much as the next girl!

Keep it casual!

 Chacos:
Perfect for outdoor activities in the summer, days at the lake, white water rafting adventures, etc. I don’t have these and I have gone back and forth for years about getting a pair because they definitely are the most fashionable things, but I need a pair of sandals that are sturdy and designed to be worn outside, in the water, and in.. less than clean conditions that will be easy to clean and super comfy. Sooo, these will probably be appearing in my closet at some point this summer.

Simple Neutral:
Perfect for everything, this is just dressy enough to wear out with your every day wear but not so dressy that it looks awkward, like I’m sure I do when I wear my metallic flats or my jacks with my workout clothes or to dance class. Oops!

Make a statement! 

Shoes are literally one of my favorite ways to change the look of an outfit. They can add a pop of color, or that perfect little flair, or the ever perfect shoe that just completes the look you were going for!

With a color:
I love brightly colored shoes, they are kind of obnoxious and weird, but not so much that they are impractical, and I love that!

With adornments:
I’m not sure this is my style, but I think theses shoes would look awesome with the right outfit AND they have so much more going on that just some leather or rubber its like art on your feet!

Or both:
These shoes are a great statement piece they are bright AND they have awesome architectural details with all the buckles and straps, these are also potentially on my wish list. I better get to saving up!

 

One thought on “Sensational Summer Sandals

  1. A girl after my own heart…you know about my love and obsession with SHOES!!!! Love them and I must say, I have similar exact/pairs to the ones shown above….plus a whole lot more…hehehehe..SSSHHHHH

Leave a Reply

