Summer on a Stick

Ok people, I know this might come as a surprise to some of you, but I have a confession to make. I am a grilled food addict. I don’t just mean I like to eat a steak every once in a while, I mean I crave all kinds of things you can smoke or grill. Salmon, chicken, chopped veggies, corn on the cob, pizza… you throw it on the grill I am probably going to AT LEAST debate eating it. So, after this confession, it should come as no surprise to you that the idea of being away from home and my dads masterful grilling has been somewhat of a struggle for me, especially in the summer when my hypersensitive nose can pick up the scent of a bar-b-que from a few blocks over. Well, imagine my surprise a few weeks ago when my boyfriend informed me that he in fact DID like to grill, and I was open to make suggestions for grilled foods we might want to make over there summer months (although communal apartment complex grills don’t quite get me as excited about slapping together a grill friendly dinner) BUT, nonetheless that is exactly what we did this past week. Confession two, my new career has landed me with a weird schedule so I was off in the middle of the week last week, so don’t just think I am sitting around having all this time to cook, I just got lucky. Anywho, back to the purpose for the post, one of my FAVORITE FAVORITE  FAVORITE things to have in the summer is kebabs. Did I mention this is my favorite, because it is. AAAAND!!!!!! because I had some time off and an epic craving for something top notch from the grill I took to the produce section to create my perfect summer kebab, and BOY was it perfect, ranking right up there with those stuffed shells I shared with you a few months ago winning accolades like “the best thing we have ever cooked” and “my favorite meal we have made”.

And, as the title would lead you to believe, when you make this meal it literally tastes like everything summer, right there, on a stick, on your plate. AND we had some top notch grilled corn with it, which also tasted a lot like summer… and was on a stick because I didn’t have any cob holder… things. Anywho, I am sure you are wondering how you can serve up a platter of summer on a stick, well, here ya go, if you don’t enjoy this…. don’t come back! Just kidding, if you didn’t enjoy it there are only 3 options 1. you didn’t marinate it properly, 2. you didn’t cook it correctly. 3. your tastebuds are broken.

Ingredients:
– bone less skin less chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces
– 1 bottle of italian dressing
– 1 small red onion chopped
– 1 small sweet onion chopped
– 1 red/gree/yellow bell pepper chopped (I used all 3)
– mushroom caps
– Corn on the cob
– Olive oil

Instructions:
– Marinate the chicken in 3/4 a bottle of italian dressing, leave some dressing for on the grill marinating to add some delicious flavor!
– Also, ahead of time soak the wooden skewers for at least 30 minutes in water so the chicken and veggies won’t stick on them while the are cooking and I guess so they don’t catch on fire or something!
– chop all the veggies and assemble the kebabs placing a few pieces of chicken  and a variety of veggies on each stick

– After the kebabs are made, prepare the corn for the grill by tearing off one square sheet of aluminum foil and placing olive oil, salt, and pepper on it, and coating the corn cob in the mixture, then wrap the corn up leaving knots on each end for easy grill removal, as shown below!

Cook kebabs on the grill until the chicken is cooked all the way through, occasionally marinating the kebabs with the remaining italian chicken. Cook the corn on the cob for about 20 minutes inside the foil, on the grill. Make sure to leave everything in the grill for a few minutes with the lid closed so it can get that nice , charred, smoke flavor that screams “I taste like summer, eat me!” Once everything is cooked all the way through, remove from the grill and celebrate the deliciousness of summer. Also, please note that you have received this recipe just in time to start off summer right, by serving to all your favorite people at your memorial day celebrations, enjoy and kebab and think of me, because I will be at work, making that cash money, so I can do more awesome things to tell you about on this blog! lucky you! Happy grilling, I know you will enjoy this one!

Leave a Reply

