Southwestern Stuffed Peppers

I have been wanting to try this recipe for a while and I just never got around to it. I have had stuffed peppers before and they weren’t my favorite thing, so I have been kind of apprehensive to try them again, because I would find nothing more annoying than cooking something for dinner that I didn’t want to eat. So, I have been scouring the inter webs looking for the perfect recipe and I found one on Pinterst, duh! So I tried it out on David the other night, and I have to say I was pretty impressed with the results. I really liked this one because it had so many great flavors in the stuffing and the peppers were roasted before we stuffed them so they were fork tender and sooooo delicious, and the bright colors made them look so summery and appetizing!

Ingredients: 

  • Olive Oil 
  • 1 lb lean ground beef or turkey
  • 1 cup chopped onions
  • 1 heaping tbsp of taco seasoning 
  • 2 cups of cooked rice (any type you like – I used brown)
  • 3-4  bell peppers, halved and seeds removed
  • 1 can of black beans, drained & rinsed
  • ½ cup of organic frozen corn
  • 1 (15 -16 ounce) jar of salsa 
  • Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • Toppings:
  • fresh cilantro
  • sour cream
  • sliced avocado


The first step was was the half all the peppers and remove the seeds from the inside. you can leave the stems attached or remove them, I left them on there for ease of picking them up and moving them around after they were cooked.

 

 after I cleaned out the inside of the peppers, I covered the outside with olive oil and baked them in the oven for 20 minutes on 400 to roast the outside. If your oven cooks really fast, definitely watch the peppers and pull them out right as the tops start to turn brown.

After I cooked the peppers (which I might have cooked to long) this is what the looked like. They were super tender which was great for eating, but made it a little harder to stuff them!

Now, while those were roasting in the oven, I pulled together the stuffing. By cooking up the ground beef with some salt, pepper, and taco seasoning. Then added the onions while it finished up. Then I combined the meat and onions with the black beans, cooked corn, cooked rice, and salsa, and a dash more of the taco seasoning. The next step was to add heaping spoonfuls of the mixture into the roasted peppers, and popped them back in the oven for 10 more minutes (the recipe called for 20, but because the peppers were pretty much cooked through, we only did 10 minutes, about enough to warm the stuffing). For the last few minutes we added some cheese to the top and let it melt, then removed them from the oven and let them cool before serving, then enjoy! I know you will!

Leave a Reply

