Mimi’s Macaroni Salad

This is one of my FAVORITE treats from my childhood, and my adulthood, and just in life in general.My mom and my grandma have been making this for so long I can’t even remember life without it!  Its so easy to make and honestly, its not summer until I have had my first bowl of macaroni salad. When David and I went to the farmers market the other weekend I knew that was the perfect time to get all the fresh ingredients I would need to make this top notch summer treat, especially since it is so quick, and easy with only 4 ingredients, you read that right, 4 ingredients. So lets hop to it, so you can drastically improve you summer menu options!


Ingredients:
a few fresh tomatoes chopped
2 fresh green peppers chopped
1 lb of macaroni cooked and cooled
Mayonaise (regular or light or miracle whip) to preference
Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:
Cook the pasta and let it cool, while you are doing this chop the veggies. Then mix the tomatoes and peppers in with the pasta and top with mayo. I know my dad likes a little more but sometimes I prefer a little less, so its all a matter of preference here. Other options are to just add some olive oil, or a red wine vinegar or something if you and your family are not mayo people OR you are trying to keep it healthy, but this is a great summer treat, especially as these vegetables start to come into season!

One thought on “Mimi’s Macaroni Salad

Leave a comment