Sunday Brunch in Deutschland

If you live in the Charlotte area and you have not experienced Sunday Brunch at the Waldhorn, let me just start off by saying, you need to call them immediately and make a reservation for this coming sunday so that when you die, you will have lived a complete life. If you haven’t figured this out yet, I am such a foodie, and this is only enhanced by Davids love of food. A few weekends ago our food worlds collided and we found ourselves at the Waldhorn in Matthews.

I am and always have been a lover of breakfast foods. On the weekends at my parents house breakfast is a huge deal. Eggs, bacon, grits, fruit, biscuits and gravy, I mean the whole nine yards, so I was raised on big breakfast. David on the other hand, doesn’t mind breakfast foods, but I don’t think he considers himself a lover of that specific meal. For example, I would eat breakfast for dinner on a regular basis if I could, but David is not really a fan. He IS however a fan of German food, which is great because one of my grandmothers is German and she loves to eat German food, so I can just send them together, so I don’t have to eat it all the time. BUT at the Waldhorn German cuisine meets breakfast, and it was literally our dream spread of food to select from. And trust me, they didn’t leave anything out, except the post mea stomach pump that made you feel less miserably full. My eyes were literally floating in my head. I don’t think I was hungry for another meal until like 8pm that night, so that was good. But the menu was ridiculous and the pricing wasn’t too bad either, this is the list from their website of the breakfast and German favorites included in their Sunday brunch. The spread was quite… ridiculous!


(ok, sorry, I didn’t do a very good job capturing the super German foods, because I was too into the breakfast options, but they were good too, according to David, and he’s a self proclaimed expert on the topic, so you can take his word for it!)
Brunch Buffet Items:
Soup & Salad, Homemade breads
Bacon & French Toast
Cheese Grits, Home Fries & Fresh Vegetables
Fresh Omelettes Made to Order
Roast Beef Carving Station
Pasta & Chicken, Bratwurst & Sauerkraut
Sauerbraten & Spätzle, Pork Roast & Red Cabbage
Seafood a la Waldhorn & Rice
Waldhorn’s Incredible Homemade Desserts
Items May Vary
$16.95 per person
Children between 5-12 years $7.95
Children 4 and under eat FREE

The only thing better than the food was the fact that the whole place made you feel like you were in Germany. It was so quaint, and authentic.

If I didn’t feel like I was actually in Germany, I guess it felt like I was in Helen, GA. Which is just this whole other lithe German experience. If only I had my blog when David and I took our day trip there. Talk about comedy. Gosh, I keep ending up in all these little kitschy German places… I think I am beginning to think David is trying to convert me into an avid lover of German cuisine. Not only was the outside “authentic” but the inside was complete with wood beams and tons of beer paraphernalia, etc.

If I had to imagine what it was like to be in Germany, I guess this is what I would imagine… I could be wrong though! Anyways, it was definitely a hit, we plan to go back sometime soon and are looking for other friends and family we can coax into coming with us so we can get them addicted as well. So, if you’re in the Charlotte area, check this place out, even if you don’t go for Sunday brunch, but you are a lover of German cuisine, I think this place will definitely have something for you, I mean they were named one of the top German restaurants in the U.S…. just saying, you should go!

Leave a Reply

