Front Door Decor

I have been putting off this project for a while. Not because I didn’t want to do it, but because I had no idea what I wanted to do. I am still not sure if I am 100% satisfied with the outcome, but for now it will have to do, because I am sick of not having a wreath on my front door, and plus, I will probably make another for football season to display my love for Clemson, and to keep my newly developed skills up to date. This project ended up being much easier than I had anticipated and I will definitely make a few more for various times throughout the year (aka football season, my favorite time of year: Christmas, and then something more springy) But the one I just made is GREAT for summer, so I will do a quick rundown of how I made it, so you can have your hand at some crafty homemade wreaths!

Supplies:

  • metal wreath form
  • roll of burlap
  • flowers of choice
  • yarn
  • hot glue
  •  wooden letter of choice.

The process was pretty simple, I did the wreath in three steps, the letter, the florals, and the base. Lets start with the base. I purchased a roll of 10yds of burlap at Michaels, and I literally used the whole thing. for a few minutes I was scared I would run out, so I was definitely cutting it close. 

I alternated different rungs on the base and would bunch the burlap and attach it with twist ties (or yarn or floral wire) to hold it in place and create the billows. After ten yards of fabric, and few hours of billowing and rearranging, I got this:

Then I added the florals, which was easy. I cut the hydrangeas off the stems and used the leaves as a base on the burlap wreath, then I attached the flowers to the side of the wreath arranging them in a cluster.

The final step was to wrap the letter and attach it to the wreath. This was the hardest part. The letter K was probably a poor life choice considering all the serifs that are protruding off of the letter that I used

I made it work for the most part. It just took a little longer than I would have liked it to, and it used a lot more yarn that I would have expected considering I wrapped everything several times.

I used mint colored yarn, because I am really liking that color right now, but like I said you can make it your own by adding your favorite flowers and picking your favorite color, you can also use lots of different colors of jute to make the wreath any color you want!

After I finally finished wrapping the letter, I attached it to the wreath and am leaving it to dry inside before I take it out to see how it can withstand the elements of heat and humidity that so kindly accompany the southern summers. But I think all in all in turned out pretty great for an afternoon craft project! and I spent about $30 on all the supplies, so also, not too expensive!

 Happy crafting! 

One thought on “Front Door Decor

  1. Pingback: Lean Mean Wreath-making Machine | Cardis Parties & Bacardis

Leave a Reply

