Stuffed Chicken and Rice

This past weekend David left to go to the beach, my aunt went to the lake, and for some reason I couldn’t sleep in late on Saturday morning, so when I woke up at 7:15am I decided to make the most of my day before I had to head to work. That being said, I just want to point out that I pretty much every blog post I will post for the rest of the week was either started or full completed Saturday morning. Thats how bored I was. But I guess we can just chalk it up to productivity. I mean I did get a decent amount of cleaning, cooking, and crafting done, so thats good! Remember that 5 ingredient recipe magazine I told you about a few weeks ago? Well, it has found its way back into my kitchen and I have to say that I am kind of obsessed with it, because everything in it tastes good and is super easy! The recipe I made this week had the signature 5 ingredients just as it claims on the front cover, and I served it with steam in bag rice and vegetables, and have to admit it was a pretty good lunch, and I made few chicken breasts so I have some left overs to take to work for dinner, so more money savings there haha!

I mean, hello! This is making my mouth water just looking at the picture, possibly because I remember how delicious it tasted when I ate it, but I think it looks pretty appetizing on that bed of rice with the side of veggies! So heres how to get this from you computer to your table in about 45 minutes.

Ingredients:

just like any good recipe from this magazine, this recipe has only 5 ingredients not including the salt and pepper used for seasoning the chicken.

  • 1/3 cup of garlic and fine herbs boursin spreadable cheese
  • 1/4 cup of crushed almonds
  • chopped fresh basil or parsley to taste (I used the fresh basil I have been growing on my porch)
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • salt and pepper to season
  • 1.5 teaspoons of butter

The first step is to make the stuffing for the chicken, by mixing the cheese, almonds and fresh herbs in a bowl.

After you have mixed all this together cut a slit in the thickest side of the chicken, about 3/4 of the way through the breast and a decent way down the side to create a pocket to stuff the cheese in. Once you have done this fill the pocket with the cheese mixture and season the chicken with salt and pepper.

While you are doing this make sure you have a non-stick pan warming over medium high heat, throw in some butter and brown the stuffed chicken breasts on each side until cooked (6-8 minutes/side)

While I was doing this I cooked my rice and veggies in the microwave, the served it up on a plate, a delicious meal, much better than my daily sandwich for lunch, and like I said the left over are great for work meals as well!

 

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Chicken and Rice

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Chicken Thigh « Rhianna's Guide to Ethical Eating

  2. Pingback: Stuffed Chicken Thigh | Rhi-Thinking Food

Leave a Reply

