Pollo Fundido Tacos

In my ever lasting attempts to expand my culinary creations to share with all of you, I am constantly looking for new recipes that I can make my own or ideas to adapt or improve on meals that I already love, which is what I did for dinner this past Tuesday night, just for the sake of being cute, we can refer to it as Taco Tuesday! I am a lover of mexican food, at least once a week you can find me consuming something wrapped in a flour tortilla or served with a side of chips and salsa. This week, instead of going out to eat mexican, David and I decided to create our own mexican meal at home, to make up for all the cooking we missed out on while he was gone on vacation.

When we started tossing around the idea of tacos it was more along the lines of  “lets buy some shells and brown some meat and other toppings and call it a meal.” Then in my light night boredom one night I was watching the Food Network “The Best Thing I Ever Made with Cheese” and it transformed our taco tuesday from a typical meal to something so delicious I had to share it with you! So, on this show one of the people was talking about how she always made a funded (which is a melted these dish) and she added onions and churizzo, so I thought well, I could do that with chicken and it would be great in the tacos. Then David and I decided to add some rice into it and it developed into this whole…. cheesy pan of mexican deliciousness that I must now tell you all about!

Heres the low down on how to make this top notch taco stuffing!

Ingredients:

  • Boneless Skinless chicken breast strips
  • taco seasoning
  • 1 large onion
  • 1 clove of garlic chopped
  • mexican style rice (we used steam bag rice, no shame here!)
  • Mexican cheese ( we used the Sargento authentic mexican mix, or you can use mozzarella)
  • Taco shells (warmed in the oven)
  • Taco Toppings (we used black beans, lettuce, sour cream and salsa)

Instructions:

Lets make the Pollo Fundido (aka chicken with melted cheese) first. The first thing you need to do is brown the chicken with the taco seasoning, then break it up into chunks. During the last five minutes of browning the chicken add in the chopped garlic and onions.

While working on the chicken make sure to go ahead and steam the rice, or boil it if you are making real rice. Once the rice and chicken are cooked in a grease pan layer the chicken, rice and cheese as follows: cheese, rice, cheese, chicken, cheese, rice, cheese, chicken, cheese with the most cheese being on the top and bottom layers. Make sure the pan is well greased to keep the cheese from sticking on the bottom or to the sides
After this is assembled, heat it in the oven at 400 for about 15 or 20 minutes or until the cheese is melted. I think our cheese melted much faster than that. Also, remember to warm your taco shells in the oven as well!

Once you remove the pollo fundido from the oven let it cool for a couple minutes then assemble your tacos to your liking and serve with the ever typical chips and salsa for a delicious Taco Tuesday meal!

 

Leave a Reply

