Unleash the Quiche

I know I say everything is my favorite thing, but quiche really does top the list. At Clemson there was a deli that I frequented most weekends, post downtown struggles, called Pot Belly Deli (aka PBD) and they had this quiche that was quite tasty, and they literally served you a fourth of the quiche AND a side, which in most cases I often selected some sort of fruit salad to make myself feel less unhealthy after eating an entire fourth of a quiche. But needless to say I have been having withdrawals since my departure from Clemson and even in my last two visits back I don’t think I have make it back to PBD, so I decided I would take to the kitchen and make a quiche all my own to fill the void. And it did, several times over…. primarily because pie crusts come in packs of two so we doubled everything and have been eating quiche since Saturday morning, but I’m not complaining!

Heres a little run down on how to recreate this delicious treat for all the breakfast lovers in your life! Also, this saves really well SO, you can preamake the quiche then freeze it before baking OR bake then freeze, and serve it when you need it!

Ingredients:
1 pie crust
Sliced Mushrooms (8oz)
1 box of frozen spinach (10oz)
4 large eggs
Feta cheese (2oz)
Grated Parmesan (1/4 cup)
Shredded mozzarella (1/2 cup)
1 cup of milk
1/2 tsp. minced garlic
Salt and pepper

Instructions:
Pre heat oven to 350 and thaw the frozen spinach, drain and pat dry. Set the pie crust out at room temperature for 15 or 20 minutes to thaw. In a skillet heated on medium high heat sauté the sliced mushrooms with garlic and a little bit of butter until they are browned and delicious!
In a large mixing bowl whisk together the 4 eggs, the milk, salt and pepper, and the parmesan cheese
after the pie crust is thaw, make sure to poke holes in the crust using a fork to help with the cooking process , then place the thawed spinach on the bottom of the pie crust, spreading it evenly.
Next, add the feta and the mushrooms to make a second layer on top of the spinach in the pie crust.

Next, slowly  pour the egg mixture on top of the existing layers in the pie crust until it reaches almost the top of the pie crust.
Top the quiche with the mozzarella cheese and bake in the oven at 35o between 45 minutes to an hour, or until the quiche is cooked all the way through, then let cool and enjoy!
One thought on “Unleash the Quiche

  1. Pingback: Biscuits and Gravy | Cardis Parties & Bacardis

Leave a Reply

