Movement Mondays – Olympics Part II

Click above to keep updated on all things Olympics!

Happy Olympics! I hope you have all been enjoying what events you have been able to catch. With my weird work schedule I find my self watching the games either really early in the morning or really late at night, which keeps me all caught up on sports like Women’s Archery, the cycling road races, and a little bit of gymnastics. Oh, and last night on my dinner break I caught some of the synchronized diving competition, which I think is REALLY intense! Since this is Movement Mondays, and all Olympic events require an extensive amount of movement we can somehow swing it to make the theme apply to this post, so try your best. Mostly, I just want to pass my opinion on the Opening Ceremonies and give you the updates on medal counts, etc so far! Lets start at the beginning, the Opening Ceremonies was…. something special. I have to say that there were parts where I was really overwhelmed by confusion and others (like the joining of the rings with the fire works

Also, the lighting of the cauldron was ABSOLUTELY awesome! It started out with these 5 or 6 kids running around with their own torches, somehow representing the future of the Olympics, then they all lit this huge flat structure in the middle of the arena which then turned into the cauldron, let me give you a visual!

I think there was a bit too much of a story line in the actual ceremony. It kind of felt like a history lesson, and the giant baby in dream sequence was maybe one of the more creepy things I have EVER seen. EVER. If you didn’t see it, let me help you out. 

But no worries, a fleet of Mary Poppins’ showed up to save the day, literally flying in over the audience and landing in the middle of the arena, which was pretty awesome! Especially because I love some Mary Poppins! And how awesome does this look!?!

But maybe one of my favorite things, was this shot of the Queen, with an unsatisfactory look on her face, and some clever individuals take on it!

Anywho, Here is an update on the medal counts as of 10 am this morning! Hope everyone is enjoying the games, and come back here on Friday for an update on the winnings so far, as well as some fun and some weird and fun Olympics facts!

Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
1 6 4 2 12
2 3 5 3 11
3 2 4 2 8
4 2 1 2 5
5 2 1 1 4
6 2 0 1 3
7 2 0 0 2
8 1 1 1 3
8 1 1 1 3
8 1 1 1 3
11 1 1 0 2
11 1 1 0 2
13 1 0 3 4
14 1 0 0 1
14 1 0 0 1
16 0 2 3 5
17 0 1 1 2
18 0 1 0 1
18 0 1 0 1
18 0 1 0 1
18 0 1 0 1
22 0 0 1 1
22 0 0 1 1
22 0 0 1 1
22 0 0 1 1
22 0 0 1 1
22 0 0 1 1
22 0 0 1 1
22 0 0 1 1
22 0 0 1 1
22 0 0 1 1

Leave a Reply

