Biscuits and Gravy

Clearly a trend is developing here. Because of my work schedule I am having to get my kitchen time in when I can, so Saturday/Sunday morning breakfast has become one more opportunity to try my hand at new dishes, like my quiche, or french toast! I honestly love that I get to make more breakfast things these days, because breakfast is one of my favorite meals! I think my next thing to tackle will be some kind of breakfast bread or home made muffins or something (no box mixes!!!!) But anyway, I maaay have cheated this weeks meal a little, I made the sausage gravy but used canned biscuits (what can I say, pillsbury seems to have perfected it, so no need to fix what isn’t broken!) But I have to say for my first attempt at sausage gravy, I did a pretty jam up job, AND it tasted amazing, AND now that I live in North Carolina, I can more easily find the best sausage to use for this gravy, Neese’s Sausage. So good. Doesn’t this look like a mouthful of southern comfort?

Ok, so the color of the gravy leaves some room for improvement, which I am pretty sure has something to do with when you add the milk and the flour, but for my first attempt the flavor and consistency was pretty spot on, so the color was of little importance to me when it was all said and done.

Ingredients:
8-12 Biscuits
1 lb of Neese’s Sausage
1/4 cup of all-purpose flour
2 cups of milk
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Prepare the biscuits according to the package instructions, Make sure to start this around the same time you start the gravy. It took about 15 minutes to cook the biscuits and about 15 or 20 to make the gravy so it was pretty perfect timing!

To start off the gravy, heat the sausage over medium high heat, making sure to separate it and season it as it browns. Then, slowly add the flour in as the sausage continues to cook and let it absorb into the mixture. I would say this might have been my first mistake, I think I just added it to early, but again, this did not hinder the taste!

Next, slowly add the milk and let it absorb into the mixture, allowing it to thicken and become delicious! Then add a little more salt and pepper as it reaches the right consistency, let cool for a couple minutes.

Finally separate your flakey, delicious biscuits and top them with your gravy mixture and enjoy a little slice of heaven on your plate. You won’t regret it!

One thought on “Biscuits and Gravy

  1. Pingback: All Scrambled Up! | Cardis Parties & Bacardis

Leave a Reply

