Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

If you remember back a few months, I vowed to take my skills in the kitchen from making dinner and side dishes to testing out my skills at a homemade desserts and decided the best place to start was with cup cakes! I posted this list of recipes for cupcakes I wanted to try before the end of the year, and so far I have only ticked one off the list with these raspberry chocolate cup cakes I made back in June. But, for some reason my favorite flavor combo, peanut butter and chocolate, did not make the cupcake list. Alas, I could not let my tastebuds down and decided this would be my next venture, so I found a recipe a few weeks ago and decided to save it for a rainy day, or when the craving hit. This past Sunday, David and I had planned to have a lazy day, but I had a crazy sweet tooth and felt like baking, even better, my kitchen was stocked with everything I needed to make the cupcakes with the exception of  chocolate chips and whole milk (because I am a skim milk kind of girl, I know, I’m a freak!) I would also like to point out that last time my cupcakes were semi homemade, and these were made from scratch, and honestly, I could tell a huge difference, so I will definitely be laboring over my cupcakes from now on. No more box mixes for me! I have to admit, I can’t wait for David and I to register for wedding gifts so we can put a kitchen aid stand mixer or even a hand mixer on the list, because David was my sous chef for the afternoon and that meant he was my hand mixer, but in the end I think it made him appreciate the cupcakes much more! So, check out our hand mixed, made from scratch, delicious peanut butter chocolate chip cupcakes, you will definitely need to serve these with a HUGE glass of milk, they are quite dense!

To start you off here is your list of ingredients seperated out by cupcake and frosting, I also just split one bag of mini milk chocolate morsels for the batter, and used the rest to sprinkle on top to make them look more professional and awesome!


Cupcake Ingredients:
1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
6 tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup smooth all natural peanut butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup whole milk
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Icing Ingredients:
     6 ounces unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup creamy peanut butter, natural (or if you want a smoother look, go not-natural)
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup whole milk

While you use your fancy hand mixer or kitchen aid stand mixer to mix everything make sure you remember to preheat your oven to 350 so once everything is all put together you can just pop them in the oven!

First you want to combine the milk and vanilla into a small bowl and mix together. 


In a separate bowl mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt.

Then, in a third bowl combine the butter and two kinds of sugar until they are well mixed, and the butter isn’t all clumpy.

Add the eggs to the butter and sugar mixer and blend until smooth.

Next, slowly mix in the peanut butter, once that is combined with the butter mixture, slowly begin to add in the dry ingredients

Once all the dry ingredients have been mixed together, add the milk and vanilla mixture

Then, you want to gently fold in the chocolate chips

Line your cupcake tin with whatever cupcake liners you like, then fill each cup 3/4 of the way with batter, I made 16 cupcakes, but I could have put a little more mix in some of  the pans to save from the second round of baking because they dont rise too much, but you know what they say… more is more!

Bake the cupcakes for about 20-22 minutes or until the pass the tooth pick test! Once the cupcakes have cooked make sure you let them cool for about an hour before you ice them, so let them sit for 30 minutes or so, then start mixing up that icing!

So, speaking of the icing, here are the instructions on that piece of the puzzle!

In one bowl, combine the milk and the vanilla


In a second bowl combine the sugar and salt

Then in a larger bowl you wan to combine the butter and peanut butter and mix well!

Alternately add sugar and milk and mix well until you get the right consistency  (not thick and tacky, but not so runny that its going to fall right off the side of your cupcakes!

Then I used a ziploc bag and an icing tip I had to ice the cupcakes… I have to say, this is a skill I need to work on, good thing I won’t be on cupcake wars any time soon!

Finally for a decorative touch, we decided to sprinkle some left over mini chocolate chips on top! So cute, and so delicious!

If you are looking to change it up, or would like a little less peanut butter, try a chocolate butter cream frosting on top to give it more of that sweet chocolaty taste instead of that rich rich peanut butter taste! Happy Baking!

 

 

One thought on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

Leave a Reply

