Chicken Almond Stirfry

I would first like to congratulate myself for turning David from a skeptic to a believer when it comes to making, easy, AND delicious stir fry. I bought all the ingredients during one of my mother load trips to the grocery store, and then found myself searching for a night to cook it all before it went bad (I always cook like I’m having the army over for dinner, when really its just myself and David, so I always end up with an obscene amount of left-overs). So, last Thursday I informed David, much to his own dismay, that we would be having stir fry for dinner, because I had all the veggies and chicken and I needed to cook them soon! When my proposal was met with much hesitation, I informed David that clearly he had never had my stirfry and all its deliciousness, and that I would surely change his mind. And I was right, as I often am, he loved it, and now we can have delicious stir fry whenever I want! Double win!

So, my secret to making delicious, non-dry chicken, stirfry – the ever unhealthy Lowry’s Teriyaki Mariande. So good! Use this, it will make everything much more delicious and fattening (I never said this was healthy, I just said it tasted good!)

Ingredients: 

  • Lowry’s teriyaki marinade
  • boneless chicken breasts
  • Mushrooms, cleaned & sliced
  • green onions
  • white onion
  • celery
  • broccoli, cleaned and cut into small pieces
  • almonds
  • White Rice
  • butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

This is soooo easy, I know I say this all the time, but it really is! I tend to make things that don’t take too much effort, so just know how excited I am that its winter and I can make many hearty crockpot dinners! Brace yourselves!

So, for this stir fry I marinated my cicken for about an hour or so. I just the chicken breasts into slices and then placed it in a container with some of the marinade, and prepped the veggies!

once everything is chopped and prepped, pull out the chicken and place it into a non-stick pan on medium high heat, with the marinade and let it cook down until the chicken is cooked through, this shouldn’t take too long since the chicken is in smaller pieces.

In another pain, combine the broccoli and the onions with some butter and saute them. Then add the celery and the mushrooms, and last the almonds! I like to let it all steam up together so I will typically place a lid on it and let it sit at low heat for a few minutes!

While this is cooking up I cooked my  rice, you can do boil in bag, steam bag rice, or stove top, what ever tickles your fancy! and then when its cooked add it to the chicken and mix well.

Once this is cooked up, serve the veggies over the chicken and rice, and its done! Quick, easy, and tasty! Also, the almonds add a surprise little crunch, probably my favorite new addition to stir fry dinners. And you can really play with the veggies to include whatever is in season at the time, which will maybe help save some extra money at the grocery store. Happy Cooking and, Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

