Crockpot Tortilla Soup

As most of you know, I love fall… for many reasons, scarves, boots, cute coats, fires, football, basically, everything that is awesome! But I also love fall because I don’t feel bad about eating an obscene amount of soup OR making lots of crockpot dishes. Because for some reason, I just don’t want my summer veggies in the crockpot. When it got cold last week I decided it was time for the first delicious soup of the year, ok I guess that was my seafood bisque, but anyhow, I knew didn’t want tomato or chicken soup or whatever, so per usual I took to pinterest for some inspiration and found this delicious recipe for crockpot tortilla soup. So good. So easy!

A combination of more of my favorite things, mexican, crockpots, and soup in the fall, and dinner ready when you get home from work, literally the best thing ever! So heres a little how to on this chicken tortilla soup, and for all my Gluten Free friends out there, this one is perfect for you too!

 

Ingredients:

  • 1lb chicken breast, trimmed
  • 15oz can sweet whole corn kernels, drained
  • 15oz can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 5C chicken stock
  • 3/4C onion, chopped
  • 3/4C green pepper, chopped
  • 1 serrano pepper, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt, divided
  • 1 tsp ground pepper, divided
  • Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
  • Seasoned tortilla strips

Instructions:

Prep all your veggies, strain the corn and diced tomatoes and then combine the chicken, corn, diced tomatoes, chicken stock, onion,green pepper, garlic, serano pepper, chili powder, salt and pepper. Then cook this portion on high for 4 hours or low for 8 hours

When the soup had about 30 minutes left to cook, I made my tortilla strips but cutting corn tortillas into small strips, tossing them with olive oil and salt, and baking them at 350 for about 10 or 15 minutes, just until they are golden brown. If you dont want to make them, you can always just buy them!

After you have cooked it for the aloted time, remove the chicken and shred it. The recipe said to use a food processor, but I was able to shred it with just a fork, so whatever works for you! Then mix the chicken back into the crock pot and add about a cup of cheese and let cook for a couple minutes, just until the cheese is melted.

Then serve warm and top with tortilla strips! MMM tasty! Happy cooking!

 

2 thoughts on “Crockpot Tortilla Soup

  1. Pingback: Saucy Franks | familyrecipebooks

Leave a Reply

