12 Crafts of Christmas- Tree Skirt

Another week closer to Christmas, another craft in the books! Only about 7 weeks until Christmas, can you believe it?!? I can’t, this year is flying by, it seems like. This week I finally buckled down and made my tree skirt, probably because I didn’t have a choice! Its almost time to bring out all the decorations, and I can’t waaaait! Since I have been upgrading my tree, I decided the final touch was to make a fabulous tree skirt. However, I was not in the mood to sew, so I was more than elated that I was able to make this entire tree skirt using only my glue gun! My kind of project for sure! Also, I cut a few corners from the original post I saw, and used ribbon instead of fabric to make the ruffles, the less cutting the better, and I was able to find exactly the colors I needed, so alls well that ends well!

For this project you will need one piece of fabric to use as a base, and then either ribbon or fabric cut into two inch strips. (I used over 50 yds of ribbon on my tree skirt, dont worry, it was only 5 rolls!) and then of course you will need your hot glue gun and A LOT of glue sticks!


Once you have all your supplies, you first want to cut the base for the tree skirt. I folded the fabric into fourths, and then traced an arc around the bottom portion of the tree skirt and cut it, and then cut the top corner off to create the whole in the middle of the tree skirt, then I cut a slit up one side to the center

Then I took the ribbon and started to make the ruffles. First tack down about 3 or so inches of fabric, then fold a portion of the ribbon back on itself and tack it back down, and repeat around the circumference of the skirt.

I alternated every row with a different color for most of the tree skirt, but I was only able to get two spools of the darker ribbon so there is one section that has a few layers of the cream ribbon, but I think all in all, it looks great!

Once I had all the ruffles done, I attached some twine to the slit so that i could fasten it around the tree, and it was all finished!

I was actually really surprised that it only took me about 4 or 5 hours to hammer this one out. I have been putting it off because I was more than convinced it would take several days, so I actually bought all the supplies two weeks ago, so I could work ahead on it, and not stress about finishing it…. but I actually finished it last Tuesday watching election coverage. So productive! Happy Crafting!

2 thoughts on “12 Crafts of Christmas- Tree Skirt

    • I know! I love Christmas so much, I cant wait until next weekend when I can bust out all the decorations and transform my little apartment into Christmas Central!!!!!

Leave a Reply

