Movement Mondays – Doll Sequence

ok, I know last week I professed my love for the second half of The Nutcracker, but I do love the doll sequence in the first half, at the party! I always loved the wind up dolls and the way they were so robotic and stiff, but still looked so gorgeous. Then I found Moscow Ballet’s Great Russian Nutcracker. Its kind of a different take one the Traditional ballet, their doll sequence actually has a little puppet show! But what I liked the most was this little fun fact that was under the video on youtube, about the “dolls” costume:

“Kissy Doll performs in Act I of Moscow Ballet’s Great Russian Nutcracker. her costume weighs 10 pounds and was created by American Dennis Ballard and is made from 100 yards of decorator ribbon and 30 yards of tulle make up the tutu skirt. Kissy Doll is now available for purchase in a Madame Alexander version in celebration of the 20th Anniversary of the Great Russian Nutcracker”

So, think about lugging that thing around the stage while doing pointe. NO thanks! Enjoy this unique rendition of the doll sequence!

Leave a Reply

