12 Crafts of Christmas – Coasters

I wanted to do something to add a little pizzaz to my christmas decor in my apartment but most of the coaster I saw online were the typical pinterest coaster where you mod podge a piece of gift wrap or tissue paper onto a tile or something to make your coaster. First of all I wanted round ones, and second of all, I wanted to do something different. So, in my hunt I stumbled upon this fun little craft where you melt peppermints to make serving trays, ornaments, whatever you want! Its so festive and I loved it and this one lady cut heart shapes out of hers and hung them on her tree and I thought. HEY! I can do that with a round cookie cutter and make coasters! So I did. it was super easy although the first attempt I waited too long to try to cut the melted mints so I had to reheat them which i think caused some bubbles, but it happens! I think they turned out pretty great, so heres how I made it happen.

First you want to make sure that you coat the bottom of your pan pretty graciously with flour.

Then line all your mints up in the pan, trying to space them out evenly


Once you have them all lined up, pop them in the oven and bake at 350 for about 10 minutes.


Let them cool for a few minutes, if they are too hot they don’t hold the shape you try to cut into them with the cookie cutter, if they are too cool, they wont cut all the way through. Once you get the shape and it doesn’t close back up, pop them in the fridge to chill them really quickly.

Once they cool the circles ( or other shape) should just pop right out of the pan when you peel it off the sheet. I didn’t have any issues with mine breaking or anything. Then I put a sealer on them so they wouldnt get sticky etc and set them out to dry! And now they are ready to use, or just to display!

The blog I found the instructions on made all kinds of serving platters for parties and dinners, she just picked the pan shape she wanted or melted it and then molded in a bowl for dips, it was pretty neat, lots of cool things you can do with this if ya get creative!

3 thoughts on “12 Crafts of Christmas – Coasters

  1. Thank you so much for posting this. I saw it once while searching for something on the internet. I told myself I could find it again later and boy was I wrong. So thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

