Crispy Baked Honey Barbecue Strips

Ive been burned by Pinterest again. You’d think after the first time I would have learned my lesson as opposed to just relying on the comment box to provide me with all the necessary information to prepare a meal.I’m sure you have all seen this one. Well, its essentially useless. I tried to find others that would link me back to the original recipe. Depressing.

Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 7.38.54 PM

Last time I was tricked into thinking I was making an easy crockpot dinner, per a comment under a pin… and was really let down when I realized not a single part of the meal even went into the crockpot. Tonight wasn’t as bad… the comment contained most of the information, ingredients, etc, buuuut it didnt have all the cooking instructions (like how long it cooks in the oven, when to add the sauce, etc). So, I decided to improvise and kind of melded two recipes together. I used the instructions for the honey bbq sauce from the pin and then made the chicken strips using a recipe from food.com. Clearly I should do a little more research on the front end, and I wouldn’t be stuck with these issues when I get into the kitchen to cook dinner! But, I have to say my compromise turned out to be top notch! And it was a quick throw together meal, which was great, because I really wasn’t feeling a long prep process! So here’s all you need to do to make this meal happen!

Ingredients:

  • Chicken breast strips
  • 1 egg (scrambled in a small bowl)
  • finely crushed ritz crackers. I used a bout 3/4 of a sleeve
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 Tbsp of BBQ sauce
  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • 1/2 stick of butter

Instructions:

picstitchIn a small bowl mix together the crushed crackers, salt, and pepper, then dunk each strip into the egg wash, then coat with crackers, and place on a greased pan. Once all the chicken are coated, place them in to oven and back at 375 for 10 minutes. 

photo-4

While the chicken is cooking, prepare the sauce. Melt half a stick of butter on medium-high heat then add in the BBQ sauce and the honey. Stir and the reduce to a simmer.

photo-1

After ten minutes, remove the chicken strips from the oven and cover them with the sauce. Then, place them back in the oven and cook for 2-3 more minutes, or until the strips are cooked all the way through. Let the strips cool for a few minutes and then serve with the sides of your choice, Enjoy!

photo

 

 

Leave a Reply

