Pan-Cooked Penne with Italian Sausage

Typically, I am a stickler for a recipe, because I know that it will result in a tasty meal, I know what ingredients I like, and I know if I just follow the instructions, as long as nothing goes seriously wrong (burnt food, undercooked meat, missing key ingredients) it will result in a pretty fool-proof dinner. Well, this past weekend I guess I finally broke the mold. I was trying to find something easy to cook because I had been out doing wedding things with my Mom amd David’s mom for most of the Day and David spent all day fishing in the mountains with his friend Brad. I found this recipe book I have had for a while called pasta revolution which has lots of tips on cooking good pasta dishes mixed in with a few recipes for things OTHER than home made noodles and every sauce imagineable. I was craving something really hearty and delicious and stumbled across a recipe for pan baked Chicken Parmesan, which I thought looked awesome so I snapped a picture of the page on my phone and headed to the grocery store. Wellllllll, when I got there I discovered what made this meal so “easy” was that you were suppose to use a frozen pre-breaded chicken, and that scared me and I couldn’t find one that I trusted to not give me some sort of stomach ailment, so I went to plan B, which was to use some of the ingredients and concepts from the original dish and create something just as easy and tasty, and I would say that success was all mine!

 

photo (8)

Ingredients:
1 Box of Penne Pasta
1 Jar of tomato sauce
1/2 cup of chooped fresh basil
3 cloves of minced garlic
3 tsp of red pepper flakes
1 package of italian sausage
1/2 cup of parmesan cheese
1 cup of Mozzerella cheese

Instructions:
In a larg pot bring some water and oil to a boil and cook your penne pasta until al dente, then strain and let cool. While you’re doing this, in a large non-stick skillet over medium high heat bring some water to a simmer and cook all of your italian sausage, let cool and then slice.

photo (10)

In a large OVEN SAFE skillet heat some olive  oil on medium heat and sautee the garlic, red peppers, and basil. Once cooked pour the jar of sauce in the pan and mix well.
photo (5)

Then add your noodles, italian sausage, and parmesan cheese and mix again until all noodles and meat are coated in the sauce.

photo (6)

Finally top with cheese and bake in the oven on 425 for 10-12 minutes until the cheese is melted, then serve! 

photo (9)

Leave a Reply

