In hot water

Do you like candles? I love them. And I have been really into volcano candles lately…. you know the ones from anthro. that make it smell so delicious in there? I love the smell AND the jars they come in.

IMG_2527

Which brings me to my dilemma of the day, I want to use those jars for more that just holding the candles, but I cant ever get them cleaned out. I have heard lots of tricks over the year but never found one that pleased my critical eye. BUT! This newest trick won me over, it was almost too easy, and I can’t believe I didnt think of it before seeing it on Pinterest, but thats how those things always are. Anywho, you probably have a ton of candles at home that look like this ( I know, it looks like there is a ton of candle left, and there was, but the wick was at the bottom, so it refused to light again)

IMG_2528

and you think, what a waste, this is such a nice jar, I need to use it to (insert something creative here), but there is all this wax residue inside. WELL, fear not! All you have to do is bring some water to a boil in a large pot and then pour the boiling water into the candle jar

IMG_2531

Let sit and cool until the wax rises to the top and starts to solidify. You want it to be pretty hard, but not SO hard that it won’t crack when you press on the top.

IMG_2532

 

After about 30 minutes or so, mine looked like this, and I was tired of waiting and about to fall asleep ( I dont know why I start these projects late at night, I guess I’m bored) so I popped it into the freezer for about 5 minutes to help expedite the process. When I pulled it out, I lightly pressed the top to crack it.
IMG_2533Then, I used a strainer to drain out the water and hold the wax, the initial process did I pretty good job getting the wax out, but like I said, I needed it to be perfect, like I just bought the empty jar, and I was nervous to put it in the dishwasher with the wax inside the jar because I didn’t want wax on my dishes or all melted and stuck to the inside of the dishwasher.

IMG_2535

 

So with a warm wet rag and a little elbow grease I was able to get the rest of the the wax out, and now its perfectly clean. I was pretty proud of this little accomplishment mostly because I REFUSED to throw it away because, like I said, i liked the jar, and I was determined to find a way to repurpose it…. not that I have done that part yet, BUT its clean and ready for whatever it might become in its second life! Maybe a vase for some hydrangeas, or a canister for something in the bathroom, like my make up brushes or hair ties or bobby pins since it has a bigger top than a mason jar. Who knows!?! Im just glad its no longer filled with crusty candle wax!

IMG_2536

 

Leave a Reply

