Pork Chops with a Blueberry Glaze

True Story: David hates berries. I dont mean like “Oh, I would prefer not to eat berries” I mean like one time I made these DELICIOUS chocolate cupcakes with macerated raspberries in the middle and a raspberry cream cheese frosting… and he DIDNT WANT THEM because they had berries in them… so then I just had like 18 cupcakes that I had to eat, which was fine because they were delicious. But yeah, he HATES berries. So this week I had plans to do dinner with my friend Jaque. We had been planning to go out, but I decided after paying my bills I need to find things around my house I could cook. SO I suggested that we cook dinner together instead of going out and spending money, which ended up working out perfectly for me because I remembered I had 2 pork chops in the freezer and I had seen a recipe online for blackberry glazed pork chops. I know what youre thinking “Wait, the title of this post says she used a blueberry glaze,” Well, please remember I am trying to save the monies, SO I had some blueberries left over from a fruit salad I had made to eat with my breakfast the week before and they needed to be used so I figured, I can just use blueberries, and it will all be the same, and I was correct and Jaque said they were so delicious. I made a few changes to the recipe, for example I cooked the pork chops stove top and not on the grill and I used blueberries instead of blackberries, and I might have added a sprinkle of sugar, because thats just what I do! So, give this one a try, I DONT think you will regret it and you can sub out the berries, I suppose, which makes it even better!

Ingredients:

  • 4 Bone-in pork chops
  • 1 Tbsp Cinnamon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 12 oz fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp of water
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil

Instructions:

1. Heat 2 tbsp (or enough to coat the bottom of the pan) over medium-high heat

2.  Season the pork chops on both sides with salt pepper and cinnamon
photo

3. While the pan is heating up, add the balsamic vinegar, blueberries, water, and sugar and let cook down.
photo-1

4. once the pan is heated up, add the pork chops and cook, browning both sides(2-3 minutes per-side) once the pork chops are seared on each side, take some of the liquid from the glaze, and brush both sides and cook a few more minutes until finished (takes about 10 -12 minutes TOTAL)

photo-4

5. Once the pork chops are cooked through to your preference, plate, and drizzle the blueberry glaze on top, and the top with the blueberries from the pot!


photo-2


I have to say that this was all in all a pretty easy week night meal, I think form start to finish it met the Rachael Ray 30 minute meal requirement, woot! So, if you’re in a crunch OR don’t really want to spend hours slaving over the stove after you get home from work, give this one a meal! Your tastebuds will be thanking you!

 

Leave a Reply

