Master Moodboard

WOOOOT! This weekend is the big move, which means the next several months will be filled with decorating, arranging and rearranging furniture, and making our new house the perfect home! So, to kick everything off, heres our master bedroom mood board. When I first started visualizing the space I thought I really wanted to do something chic and stylish, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized it need to be comfortable and warm and relaxing, since this is where David and I would be able to go to escape. I just want it to look like the decor wants to give you a big ‘ole hug! So I decided to go with neutral tones and warm accents, lots of homey touches, and nothing too bold to interrupt the flow. I found my ideal room on pinterest, so I think I will borrow this idea from them and then put my own spin on it!
Master_MoodBoardLike I said, I love the neutral color pallet. I think we are going to accent with some maroons or plums, but nothing to bright and out there, plus it will be easy to change out the accent color without too much worry with clashing, etc. So, another point for the neutral color scheme. I was also probably drawn to this room design because… I already own that bed spread so it was really easy for me to visualize putting it all together, and I wasn’t really interested in reinventing the wheel with the decor since I had most of the pieces, just spicing up what I already had. I am in the process of converting some older lamps into mercury glass ones to use, and I really want to get a really awesome mirror, because I feel like they make such a statement.

I have been oogling the one picture above on pinterest for like 2 months now. I know I will probably never find its twin, but I will find something that is perfect for our space. I also LOOOOVE those white bedside tables, again probably because I already have white ones, but I really like the pottery barn table pictured above because it looks old AND new, kind of country, I love the little accents like the handles and the shelves that make it a little different than your average bedside table. It also has a matching 4-drawer night stand. I enjoy the masculinity of the piece, I feel like David could really get on board with it! haha.

I also really like their wood statement sign and I might have something like that in the works soon, our master bedroom ceiling is vaulted so we need something kind of big and dramatic to fill the space. and  the wall the bed on is kind of long, so I am thinking I might want to add some sconces, or if I decided they are better suited for either side of the window, they might end up there, but I think its definitely a great way to add that romantic touch to the room, without going over the top. The master bedroom is definitely on the top of my to-do list because I don’t want it to feel like it is in disarray for several months, especially considering we are about to move into a pretty hectic spring with the wedding less than 5 months away, so having a place all our own to relax is going to be key. I will keep you posted on the progress of these projects! YAY design!

Leave a Reply

