Our Style Scope

A friend posted this on FB the other day and I wanted to check it out and see how spot on I thought it was about my personal style. I always find little quizzes like this to be so interesting because I am a really visual person, so I think its cool to see what my visual intersets say about my personality, my style or whatever other portion of my psyche they care to address in this manner. So, I took this little Homegoods Stylescope test, to see what they thought about my choices!  I also loved that everything was pictures. When you go to the page you get this little diagram
StyleScape_Before

Before I took the little quiz I decided I wanted to name my own style and I decided it was rustic with a touch of class. I tend to like things that look old and hand made or ARE hold and or hand made and I am really into making a space feel comfortable and liveable. My mom said I always had a knack for taking a space I had spent minimal time in and making it look like I had lived there for a few years. I just never want to feel uncomfortable in my own space and I don’t want anyone else to either. I tend to like warm colors, soft lighting, and lots of pillows (one of Davids least favorite things about my decorating) Even the man cave has 5 pillows on the couch! So needless to say I was excited to see what Homegoods had to say about the thing that caught my eye!
StyleScape_ChoicesSo, I picked (1) those GORGEOUS pink flowers. For 2 reasons, I love pink, and I love having fresh flowers in the house. Especially in the spring and summer. I think they really brighten up the room and make it more inviting, and it just makes your home look lived in! (2) Next I picked that gold face. I really cant describe what it is that I LIKE about it other than I was drawn to the texture and kind of monochromatic appearance of it (I am really into monochromatics these days, just ask David!) I was just immediately drawn to it, and thats all I know to say! (3) Next I picked this ampersand. I liked that it looked old and loved, but I also like type faces. Any kind of type. I think its a print thing. Oh well! But, like the face,  it really spoke to me too, so I had to pick it. (4) I picked the pearls, SUE ME! Despite everything I am still a little southern girl who likes getting all dolled up and throwing on a set of pearls to go out on the town. And I still believe, nothing says high class like a string of pearls around your neck. (5) I picked the chevron pattern, because who DOESN’T love a big bold print. Occasionally you just have to get crazy! So, according to Homegoods and their little test I am:
StyleScape_AnswerHonestly, I think they hit the nail right on the head. I love all the little nuances of the things in this collage! I love the mercury glass vases, the letter, the pearls, the textre of the fabrics, the little white bird votive candles. I feel like its totally me! What I was shocked about was the “touch of Boho” I have never really considered myself Bohemian…. at all. But I read the little descriptions, sooo I guess it works?  “Boho isn’t just carefree. She’s adventurous and passionate, loving color and new and unusual uses for things. She’s into the Revamp, Reuse, and Recycle, and she can’t get enough of foraging for a good deal while mixing and matching silk-and-knit textures and vibrant colors anywhere she can.” I can get into repurposing and recycling but I am not sure about the carefree part, but I do like to mix and match. I want you to think I have expensive taste, but I don’t want to pay the expensive price! haha!  But I thought the major part… the farmhouse chic was pretty spot on. According to Homegoods  “Farmhouse Glam is the delicate, exquisite balance between beautiful femininity and rustic nonchalance. She’s all about the discovery of unexpected sparkle amidst the less polished. She wears high heels and a denim jacket, a string of pearls and bare feet. And her home feels as special as it does comfortable.” I feel like that is pretty spot on with the way I describe myself, and my favorite part is they give you little design ideas that go with your personal style. So awesome!

Then I made David take it because I wanted to know how our styles worked… and I think these might be a little mixed up, but I guess they work well together. He was defined as “classic with a touch of new country” – “Classic knows there’s a place for everything—and everything belongs in its place. She’s a perfectly tailored dress. A smooth, 4-tiered wedding cake. And she imbues her sense of structure with a graceful elegance, an undisturbed calm, and of course, an irrefutable beauty.”  Like I said. It makes sense but kinda not, BUUUUT I think the new country is totally him! “New Country understands the value of slowing down, enjoying the sunsets, bringing the outside in, and feeling a real sense of relaxation in her space. She is laidback, but her style is still intentional and beautiful in its rustic elegance.” Luckily, I feel like these two go together, enough… haha.

DAVID_Style

Regardless of our results I am excited to see how our Classic Farmhouse Chic, New Country Boho home turns out! Stay tuned to see it all!

Leave a Reply

