I ate Brussels sprouts and I liked it…

**to the tune of that catchy Ke$ha song** But really… I did. I have to admit have fear the sprout for sometime now. all I knew is that it looked like a miniature version of collards, which (shocking southerner confession) I absolutely hate. I hate the smell, the appearance, the texture, the taste. EVERYTHING about collards. So when I saw everyone and their grandma posting all these pictures of Brussels sprouts and my friend Katy telling me she was obsessed with them I figured it was worth it to give them a shot, so we did! And we always go big or go home, so for our first soirée into sprout city, we cooked a whopping 2lbs of Brussels sprouts in the oven and prayed the whole time that we would at least SOMEWHAT be able to consume the final product. I am not normally nervous about the end result of our meals, because I know if I pick things that look delicious and follow the recipe I am bound to get something remotely close to the desirable end result. But… this one just had me nervous. Luckily I liked them and David was OBSESSED. He said that he would eat them like potato chips. haha I thought that was a bit extreme but I am glad we had a favorable end result. So, if you are looking for a good way to get into Brussels sprouts, I recommend trying this, it has a balsamic glaze and its cooked with olive oil and garlic, so there are a few other flavors working to your advantage to make it delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds Brussel Sprouts
  • 2 T. Olive Oil
  • Kosher Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1/2 cup good Balsamic Vinegar

Instructions:

1. Heat oven to 400. Slice brussel sprouts in half through the core. Toss with olive oil and generously season with salt and pepper.

IMG_3250

2. Place on cookie sheet and roast for 30-40 minutes or until golden brown and crispy.

IMG_3252

3. To make balsamic reduction: put 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar in a small sauce pan and heat over medium heat until boiling. Reduce heat to a simmer until reduced to 1/4 cup. About 15 minutes.Then, place brussel sprouts in a serving bowl and toss with balsamic reduction.

IMG_3253

Super quick and easy, and we served ours with a pan seared porkchop that was topped with David’s homemade BBQ sauce. It was quite tasty and when combined with a salad…. we figured we had a rather healthy dinner on the table that night!

IMG_3254

I definitely suggest giving this one a try of you have been a little weary of trying brussels sprouts, it made me a fan!

Leave a Reply

