Dining Room Dreaming

Right now is probably the worst time to be posting about how excited I am to decorate our dining room, considering It is currently being referred to as our “holding room” aka the room that holds all our shower and wedding gifts until we find somewhere we can actually store them in our house! BUT its pretty much a blank canvas staring me in the face everyday, so I cant resist day dreaming about it every time I sit in the living room thinking about how empty and lonely it looks! We repainted the room for a really terrible tiffany blue (a color I love, just not on the wall) to a really serene blue gray. I feel like this color really makes the wainscoting pop off the wall AND it looks even more awesome since we have replaced the old ugly bamboo shades with some nice white 2″ faux wood plantation shutters, our first new house splurge, but I don’t regret it one bit, but more on that next week!

photo-11

When I think about how I want my dining room to look, I am convinced I live in the wrong region. I have such a Charleston look in my mind, so its kind of hard trying to figure out how to bring it to Huntersville, but I know its exactly what I want! I found this great article about all the crucial elements to include in your “Charlestonian dining room” so I will be sure to take these to heart as I continue planning the room!

Let me preface these pictures by saying I was probably drawn to the blue because it was easiest to imagine recreating this in my already blue dining room, but don’t let that discount my true love for these awesome interior designs!

016c1e0f402c61ea18d671951180293c

After searching and searching I think David and I have definitely decided that a dark wood table is the way to go, because it will be pretty timeless. Im not super into the base on this one, I want something that won’t look aged and out of date in a few years, but I do love the white chairs! David had a time talking me out of an all white dining set, but I am getting used to the idea, and I think the brown will be a nice way to break everything up and give it a bit more formality, plus it hard to pull off the all white away from the coast!

f48985b8d2dd9f5541b9dea3f6918db9

In addition to the white chairs here I also really love the buffet! Perfect for storage, ads a pop of color and it isn’t some HUGE mass of wood just hanging out in the room, I hate that, I feel like it really brings everything down, and I am aiming for a little more bright and airy.

c8af5f026394a379643ce9d7eeee2147

Speaking of china storage, HUBBA HUBBA! I love these floor to ceiling shelving units that really let the china be on display! I mean if I am not going to use it all the time I at least want to be able to look at how pretty it is! And thats really the point, right? But I dont think David is all for the wall to wall installation so, I lost out on that one.

57b1b5eb2aca6ba2216a0c7d0752bba3

I really love this room, I think mostly because the feel of the room is so similar to ours with the gray blue paint and the white molding and chair rails, etc. But I love all the LITTLE things in this room, the bright flowers, the tall candle sticks, the round table and mis-matched, but still coordinating, chairs. I am kind of digging the round table, and I read in the article I referenced above that the round tables are better for smaller spaces where you can’t fit a longer table to sit a ton of people, so I think that is a viable option for us as well, but I don’t know that a round table would be me “forever table” and for what formal dining tables cost, I feel like that’s what I need to be looking for.

a911bb1e4c1d66e14f57441068c317c9

I also really like the casual look of this room, it could be dressed up really easily, unfortunately David hates wicker, so that out, and I have to say im not a huge fan of it in the dining room, but I do like the SHAPE of these chairs, which I think is what drew me to this design in the first place. We will see how it pans out. I am sure our dining room will end up being a hodge podge of all these different things.  But I know we will get it right at some point. trial and error is the name of the game!

e4a6935539c46fb89aeb9aeda0ed74c9

I am also toying with the idea of getting some really luxurious end-cap chairs to kind of spice things up a bit. I think it will really finish off the room nicely. I just love the way they make a big statement and then if you’re lucky enough to get to sit in the big comfy chair, you will feel special. I have a feeling if we do this, scotch guard will be my best friend, because I will LITERALLY die if someone dumps their dinner all over my fancy fabric chairs! I can’t wait to start working on this room and getting everything organized, although I know that is a few months out. But a girl can dream, right?

3 thoughts on “Dining Room Dreaming

  1. Love! Ok so is the first picture the color of y’alls dining room?? If so what is the color and where did you find it? That is the color scheme we have in our bedroom and I am so desperately wanting to paint!

    • I don’t know why I just saw this but yes that is the color! I will text you the name when I get home from work today! We love it!

  2. Pingback: Before & After: Dining Room Shelves | Quintessential Quarters

Leave a Reply

