Mimi’s Banana Pudding

God bless the southern woman who decided putting sour cream in banana pudding was a great idea, because IT TOTALLY IS! My mom’s mom has been making this banana pudding since I can remember, and when I was learning to cook, it was one of the first desserts I was determined to conquer. A) because its SO tasty and B) because its super easy and always a hit! Since summer is getting into full swing, and I’m sure you’re lining up all your cookouts and trying to prep for the fourth of July, I thought it was the ideal time to share this tasty treat with you all! I made this a few weeks ago when David and I had a week night cookout with our friends Tyler and Melissa at their new house, it was so much fun to see them and catch up, I feel like we’re so busy running around all the time, it was nice to just sit and enjoy the company of some of our local friends! Melissa and I were talking and our grandmothers have really similar recipes, like I said, those good ole southern treats, always a hit. Here’s all you’ll need for this simple, tasty, hit!

Ingredients: 

  • 3 – 4oz. packages of Vanilla Pudding
  • 1 – 8oz. carton of sour cream
  • 5 cups of milk
  • 1 -90z carton on cool whip
  • 2 boxes of vanilla wafers
  • 8-10 bananas

Instructions: 

In a large bowl mix together the 3 boxes of instant pudding and 5 cups of milk and cool in the fridge. After the pudding sets, add hte sour cream and mix well.

IMG_3698

Once you have the sour cream mixed into the pudding evenly, add the whipped cream. Just add it a bit at a time, folding it in slowly. You dont want to break down the whipped cream, or the pudding will become too runny.
IMG_3700

Once you have the mixture made, slice your bananas, and grab your cookies and get ready to layer it up! Start with a layer of cookies on the bottom of your bowl or pan (clear dishes are better so you can see all the layers (trifle dishes are the best!).

IMG_3701

Once you cover the entire bottom with vanilla wafers, add the sliced bananas, you can use as many or as little as you like, depending on personal preference. I like at least a banana in every bite, so I tend to load it up, but David isn’t a huge fan of a ton of bananas, so I am trying to use a little less!

IMG_3702

Top those two layers with 1/3 of the banana pudding mixture, and try to spread it as evenly as possible! Once you get it nice and even, start over and layer cookies-banana- pudding until you run out of pudding!

IMG_3703

Make sure you have enough pudding left to completely cover the top layer, and then jazz it up with some left over wafers, my grandma used to crumble cookies on the top, but I made this one a night ahead of a cookout we went to with friends so I didnt want the crumbles to be soggy!

IMG_3704

I hope this tasty southern treat brings you as many smiles and memories as it has brought us over the years! I promise you won’t regret making it!!!!

One thought on “Mimi’s Banana Pudding

  1. Pingback: Banana Pudding(no-bake) | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

