Tied Tulle Wreath

A few weeks ago I missed my first friends baby shower due to some pre-wedding festivities and obligations, however I did not pass up the chance to make a fun gift to pass on to the mother-to-be! My college roommate and her husband Caleb are expecting their first child, a little girl sometime at the end of August/beginning of September. However, if she is anything like her mom and dad, I think she might make QUITE the grand entrance a little earlier than expected! I decided that any baby of Caleb and Lauren’s needed a stylish, fun, and funky way to announce her presence to the world, so, I put together this simple tied tulle wreath with her name on it!

IMG_3937

All you need to get this project done is a Styrofoam wreath form, 4 rolls of tulle (2 of each color if you plan to alternate), some ribbon for a bow, white floral wire, and whatever letters you will need. I was going to have it say “its a girl” but they didnt have all the letters I needed. Oh well, compromises, compromises. Once you have all your materials pulled together, start to cut your tulle. enough to double knot it and leave a little hanging off, mine was too long at first so I had to trim some of it down so it wouldn’t look as wild and wolly.

IMG_3932Once you have all your tulle cut, start tying it onto the wreath form. Make sure you bunch it relatively close together, just so that its not super transparent, but you also don’t want it so close together that you run out of tulle, I found that I had to make a lot of adjustments as I was working on it to get the spacing right, but you’ll be able to tell when you’ve got it looking right!

IMG_3933

Once  you get all the tulle tied on, you want to tie your bow and attach it using a floral wire. I also attached the eltters to floral wire and the tied the AND glued them onto the wreath form for extra security. Make sure to lay everything out before you start to attach it just to make sure you have the spacing right and like the way it looks, I had to play with mine a few times. Then once everything is attached, make another loop with floral wire, that you can attach to the form to hang the wreath from a door hanger! And there you have it! I was able to knock this project out in just a few hours and the Mommy-to-be says she will definitely be bringing it to the hospital so everyone will know where to find them, which makes me so excited!

You can really change this wreath design up for anything you need, use your team colors for football season some small pumpkins and gourds for fall, or a larger letter for you last name, or maybe your house numbers! Like I said, anything will work, so be creative!

One thought on “Tied Tulle Wreath

Leave a Reply

