Yah Mon – The Honeymoon

DSC01458

David and I reppin the Tiger Rag in Jamaica

I know you probably want to know more about the wedding than read about David and I laying around on the beach drinking cocktails, but our honeymoon was so relaxing and awesome, AND I don’t quite have my mind wrapped around how exactly I want to blog all things wedding without going overboard. SO, honeymoon it is!

DSC01391

David and I went to the Sandals Whitehouse Resort is Westmoreland, Jamaica for our honeymoon, and it was fabulous! The beaches were gorgeous the staff was awesome, super friendly, and tons of fun! The food was better than I was expecting for an all inclusive set up AND I most loved that we were pretty much unconnected for an entire week of post-wedding decompression. It was definitely the way to go!

DSC01400

The first day we were there it was a bit rainy, but the weather cleared up and was nice the rest of the week, there was tons to do and see just around the resort so we didn’t spend much time doing anything else (plus we were into the free activities: kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding, water trikes -hahaha, trust me its comical! , swimming…. up to the bar to get drinks, floating in the pool, snorkeling…which I chickened out on, and SCUBA diving if you were certified, which we were not)

DSC01401

After talking with some of our friends who had been to Sandals before we were a little worried about the restaurants being crowded or there not being enough room at the pools to sit etc, but we didn’t seem to run into any of those problems, between the 7 restaurants, 3 pools, and tons of beach it felt like the resort was empty when in fact there were like 500 other people there at the same time as us. I didn’t really think about it before hand but it was really bizarre to show up and be spending a week with a ton of people who just got married on the same day as us! I just didn’t think this trough! But it was a blast to exchange wedding war stories and talk about funny things our guests did and compare notes on everything!

DSC01429

One night at dinner the waitress carried our dessert from the kitchen to our table on her head… and did a little dance! It was quite comical!

Also, one of my prouder moments, I convinced David that we needed to get a massage, which was quite a feat for me since he doesn’t like to be touched and is super ticklish. I told him the hot stone massage was his best option for optimal enjoyment and getting all those huge knots out of his back he always complains about. So we go to the little spa, and there was a lot of forced PDA. They made us hold hands to walk into the room, and at the end of the massage, the made us awkwardly hold hands while still laying on the tables.

DSC01403

David before our massage– he seems thrilled, don’t you think?

They are really into forced PDA at Sandals by the way, between the couples massage, the Sandals Paparazzi and the staff you would try to get to take pictures of you for free on your OWN camera so you didnt have to pay for it later…. someone was always telling you to hold hands or kiss or something like that. For example one night at dinner we asked someone to take our picture… and before she gave the camera back we had 6 pictures of us kissing or… sitting close together… OR feeding each other– exhibit A:

DSC01432

David feeding me dessert, I am not as amused as he is by this activity.

Also, on our trip we learned… I am terrible at pool. I had always suspected this, but it was definitely validated during our week at sandals. There was a rec center near our room that had 4 pool tables so we always found ourselves stopping by on the way to and from dinner or the pool, just to have a chance to do something else. We must have played more than 20 games while we were there and I only beat David twice… once was because he hit the 8 ball in before the game was over. Like I said, my skills are lacking. I was convinced if we kept playing I would get better and I think I actually got worse, so that’s embarrassing!

DSC01444

David schooling me at pool.

Enough about the activities, lets talk views, this place was gorgeous. By the second day we had picked our spot on the beach that we sat at every morning before lunch and then in the afternoon we made our way to one of the pools for some floating, drinking, and uselessness. Except one day when they were having water aerobics at the pool which was less than appealing.  Envision an angry Sue Sylvester-esque  Jamaican screaming pool aerobics exercises at you. There were about 10 people in the pool that actually braved the class, everyone else was just sitting in lounge chairs… watching in fear that this person might call us out and make us get in and exercise. But apart from that, the lounging was awesome! So awesome that we did pretty much nothing else. And we loved every minute of it!

DSC01387

One thought on “Yah Mon – The Honeymoon

Leave a Reply

