No Lettuce Salad

I adapted this from another recipe I found on Pinterest. The original recipe was suppose to have quinoa, buuuut in the bustling town in which I live, the grocery store I went to today did NOT have any, and I won’t even blame it on all the masters guests, because I am pretty sure they are eating much more expensive delicacies, as supported by the recent arrival of HUGE lobster tails and king crab legs at our COSTCO. Nonetheless, I made do with the ingredients I could find, and I think this is a great way to get your summer veggies, without tossing them up with some lettuce and throwing it on the table. AND, its bright and colorful and delicious. I give it two thumbs up, and if I had another it would be 3!

Ingredients:
1 bag frozen microwave steam corn
1 bag steam fresh edamame
1/2 diced red pepper
1 diced tomato
1 diced green onion
1/2 lemon juiced
1/2 lim juiced
2 Tbsp EVOO
Salt and Pepper to taste

Instructions:
1. Cook corn and edamame according to package instructions, rinse in cool water and remove edamame from shells.

2. In a large bowl mix together to edamame, corn, diced tomatoes, red peppers, and green onions

3. Next in a separate dish combine the following:

  •  1/2 lemon juiced
  • 1/2 lim juiced
  • 2 Tbsp EVOO
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

4. Pour the dressing over top of the veggie mix an toss to coat. Place the salad in the fridge to cool for about 2 hours before serving, then, enjoy!

2 thoughts on “No Lettuce Salad

  1. This looks delicious! I have made that dressing before and love it. Thanks for sharing this. By the way I get quinoa at Earth Fare all the time… in the deli section already prepared. 🙂 I am gonna make this recipe for sure! I do not eat a lot of corn so this is a good way for me to get some in my diet. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Bored with Lettuce? Try Losing Weight with These No-Leaf Salads – DrGullo.com – Eating More Veggies on Your Diet Plan

Leave a comment